James Prosek: Ocean Fishes


Given Gold Medal for Distinction in Natural History Art from the Academy of Natural Sciences in Philadelphia

Awarded to: a person or group of people “whose artistic endeavors and life’s work have contributed to mankind’s better understanding and appreciation of living things.” Art was intended to be interpreted in its broadest sense, and the list of recipients includes artists working in a wide range of disciplines including painting, writing, photography and cinematography.

Previous Recipients:

1. 1980 Roger Tory Peterson
2. 1981 Ansel Adams
3. 1982 Sir Peter Scott
4. 1983 Eliot Porter
5. 1984 Peter Matthiessen
6. 1987 B.B.C. Natural History Unit
7. 1992 William Cooper
8. 1995 Guy Tudor
9. 2005 John McPhee
10. 2012 James Prosek

Exhibit Artwork


Installation Photos

< Exhibit Gallery